Message sent from:

School Organisation

Since opening in 1967, Robert Sandilands Primary and Nursery has been a maintained co-educational school for children aged 3 - 11 years. Currently, our standard admission number is 30, although we have a larger cohort of 60 children in Year One from September 2016.

The school consists of a four phases of education: EYFS, KS1, Lower Juniors and Upper Juniors.  We have 9 classes that are chronologically grouped; generally two in each phase with the exception of KS1 where there is three.  These classes work very closely together, learning about the same topics and sharing the same experiences. 

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

UNICORN - Foundation One or Nursery (age 3 to 4)

GRIFFIN - Foundation Two or Reception (age 4 to 5)

Key Stage One (KS1)

WYVERN - Year One (age 5 to 6)

PHOENIX - Year One (age 5 to 6)

HYDRA - Year Two (age 6 to 7)

Key Stage Two (KS2) - Lower Juniors

KRAKEN - Year Three (age 7 to 8)

ROC - Year Four (age 8 to 9)

Key Stage Two (KS2) - Upper Juniors

MANTICORE - Year Five (age 9-10)

CENTAUR - Year Six (age 10-11)

For more information about these classes, please see the 'Learning' area of the website.  There, you will find further details about our Curriculum, Classes, Enrichment opportunities and Extra Curricular offerings. 

For particular details about our Nursery facility, please also refer to the specific Nursery section within the 'About Us' tab.

School Day

For all classes except Nursery, the school day begins at 09.00, with the doors opening at 08.50.   Nursery begin their day at 09.05 and learn all morning until 12.05.

Morning assemblies are held at 09.15 if the community is inviting to attend and 10.15 for other assemblies.   

The children in  Y1 to Y6 have a morning break at 10.40 and lunch at 12.10.

For full time learners, the school day ends at 15.15, with the option of some school clubs running to 16.15 or 16.30.


Robert Sandilands Primary and Nursery School operates a house system.  Our four houses are names after castles:  Berkeley (red), Donnington (green), Highclere (yellow) and Windsor (blue).  The children earn team points for their house and compete in house competitions.  The house with the most team points earn a non-uniform day every short term and the House Cup at the end of the year.

Each house has a Y6 House Captain and a Sports Captain.  This year's captains are:





School Council

The school also has a School Council; the School Council of Robert Sandilands or SCORS.  It is led by two Year Six pupils who take the roles of Chairperson and Secretary.  Year One to Year Five classes then vote for two representatives who attend meetings and take forward ideas.  This year's SCORS team are:

Other Badge Holders

As well as House Captains, Sports Captains and SCORS Representatives, the school also has Y6 Librarians and Assistant Librarians.  This year's Library team are: